Analyzing Return on Ad Spending

What is Return on Ad SpendingReturn on Ad Spend (ROAS) is one way to help advertising and marketing professionals and investors analyze how well promotions do (or don’t) produce sales. It helps advertisers develop data based on their campaigns’ revenue production (or lack thereof). Understanding how this metric is calculated and how to analyze ROAS is essential for businesses to monitor and increase their advertising performance.

Known as a Key Performance Indicator (KPI), ROAS determines how much sales are generated per dollar invested on advertising outlays. It separates advertising costs from the company’s costs, and it focuses on:

1. The differences between advertising income and advertisement expenses

2. Assisting companies with creating efficient budgets

3. Identifying unprofitable campaigns

How ROAS is calculated:

Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) = Revenue generated from ad campaign/Total advertising costs for a specific campaign

The revenue generated from an ad campaign is the revenue immediately assignable to promotions utilizing a tracking tool.

Total advertising costs for a specific campaign are expenses explicitly connected to the advertising platform.

The resulting calculation determines the business’ return on ad spend, giving owners and managers an idea of how well (or not) ad spending impacts the company’s sales. It similarly enables business owners to reconcile the company’s budgeted advertising costs against growing sales metrics. The following hypothetical breakdown shows what a positive scenario looks like:

A ROAS of 10 = $10 of revenue was earned for every $1 spent on ads. This would translate into:

Total Ad Spend: $10,000

Revenue Generated: $100,000

ROAS = $10

ROAS = 10:1

Important considerations when calculating this include factoring in merchant expenses, costs for digital content production, and costs incurred from media platforms. It’s also important to consider that it’s not always cut-and-dry as to how and what specific ads convert potential customers into paying customers. Assigning the exact ad platform or campaign is a common problem when determining the exact ROAS.

Credit analysis conducted by lenders evaluates ROAS to determine the sales ability of companies seeking loans, especially with promotion-centric companies. The higher the ROAS, the less risk there is and the more reliable the revenue from each campaign. For merger and acquisition professionals, ROAS trends offer insight into a target company’s sustainability. It helps determine if a company’s advertising campaigns can sustain themselves and keep generating future growth.

It’s equally important to see how ROAS compares against other metrics. While ROAS focuses on revenue generated per dollar spent, the advertising-to-sales ratio looks at the total proportion of sales driven by advertising efforts. Similarly, while ROAS measures the revenue per ad spend, return on investment analyzes the comprehensive profitability for the complete level of marketing expenses – not exclusively advertising. While ROAS is a short-term measure on instant sales, Lifetime Value looks at the customer’s history with the company and the entire revenue the company earns from the relationship.

While this metric is helpful for many professionals, it’s important to ensure that only necessary data is included and customer conversion is monitored precisely in order to get the best output.

Calculating the CAC Payback Period

Calculating the CAC Payback PeriodThe CAC Payback Period looks at how a business needs to recover its investment in attracting new customers. It is especially crucial for companies that are in industries with large marketing and sales costs. It’s an important metric because it helps businesses measure their performance in a number of ways.

First, it shows how well a business is managing its budget. Based on the resulting figure of the CAC Payback Period, the shorter the time required to break even on its customer acquisition costs, the more efficient a company is with its sales and marketing expenses. If, however, the result is high, this signals the company is doing something wrong and needs to analyze its current approach.

Running this analysis can also identify a company’s financial perils. The more prolonged the CAC Payback Period, the more likely a company might be facing cash flow concerns. Whether it is caused by overall economic conditions or industry or company-specific challenges, this is another reason for a company to run the numbers to see how it can mitigate or turn around the costs associated with acquiring customers.

The calculation also can help a business determine if it is able to expand to new products and markets and scale up existing product lines. The shorter the time needed to acquire new customers, the more likely a business can grow.

When investors and lenders analyze a company’s financials, including this metric, the more efficient a company is, and the more likely it will attract investors or have lenders offer favorable financing terms.

How to Calculate the CAC Payback Period

This scenario looks at $300,000 in customer acquisition costs, such as marketing, sales, etc., for a three-month period. The company obtained 1,000 new customers and is expected to gain $200,000 in new monthly recurring revenue (MRR), with an estimated gross margin of 60 percent.

First Step: Calculate the CAC by dividing Sales and Marketing Expenses by the new customers (1,000). It’s expressed as follows:

CAC = Sales and Marketing Expenses/Number of New Customers

CAC = $300,000/1,000 = $300 per customer

Second Step: This is to determine the monthly recurring revenue (MRR) per customer. The new MRR amount is divided by the number of newly acquired customers. It’s calculated as follows:

MRR = $200,000/1,000 = $200 per customer

Third Step: Determine the gross margin or how much remains from revenue after subtracting direct costs. In this case, we’ll use 60 percent.

Fourth (and Final) Step: This step determines how many months it will take to recoup the customer acquisition costs from the profits generated by the newly acquired customer. It’s calculated as follows:

CAC Payback Period = $300/($200 x 0.60) = 2.5

Based on the resulting 2.5 figure, it takes, on average, 2.5 months of profit from the newly acquired customers to pay for the customer’s acquisition cost.

Understanding CAC Payback Period Efficiency

If it’s less than 12 months, it’s favorable. This implies a business has an efficient approach to profitability and growth. However, it’s not a hard and fast rule because the repayment time frame can fluctuate based on the economy and the business operations. If a company is a low-margin business or industry (e-commerce, groceries, etc.), a far tighter payback time frame would be necessary to be viable.

There are many factors that can affect this company-specific measurement, such as the industry or sector, current economic conditions, or the business’ approach to gaining new customers. If a company has a shorter CAC Payback Period in an industry that has a generally accepted longer one, this can imply that the company is more efficient in its operations.

This metric is another tool in a financial analyst’s toolbox that can measure and identify efficiency (or lack thereof) and help put businesses back on track for greater financial health.

Common Business Accounting Calculations

Common Business Accounting CalculationsNo matter the type of business or industry, being able to analyze and deduce patterns is essential to discovering a business’ financial health. Here are four commonly used calculations to help internal and external stakeholders determine an organization’s ability to manage its finances.

Break-Even Analysis

This formula analyzes fixed costs versus the profitability a business earns for every extra item it creates and sells.

Businesses that have smaller thresholds to meet their fixed costs to realize profitability have an easier break-even point to meet and exceed. Once the fixed costs threshold is satisfied and sales revenue outpaces variable costs, a business will know when it hits the break-even point.

Break Even Point (BEP) = Total Fixed Costs/(Price Per Unit – Variable Cost Per Unit)

This takes the total fixed costs divided by the price per individual unit minus each unit’s variable cost.

Examples of fixed costs are rent, taxes, insurance and wages. Examples of variable costs are raw materials, production supplies, utilities and packaging.

Another way to determine a company’s break-even point is as follows:

Contribution Margin = Item Price – Variable Cost Per Unit

This is illustrated by: $55 = ($85 – $30)

The item’s priced at $85, with a variable cost of $30, the contribution margin is $55 of how much revenue a company earns to pay for the remaining fixed costs.

Cash Ratio Formula

The cash ratio formula offers one way to look at a company’s liquidity position by comparing a company’s cash and cash equivalents to its current liabilities or debts due within the next 12 months. It shows how well positioned a business is (or is not) able to pay debts due within 12 months, and to satisfy the near-term obligations of its long-term debt.

It’s an important ratio that lenders look at when evaluating a company’s loan application. Instead of including assets such as accounts receivables, it factors in a business’ ability to take care of its financial obligations. It’s thought of as being a more real world look at how financially stable a business is.

It’s calculated as follows: Cash Ratio: Cash + Cash Equivalents/Current Liabilities.

Gross Profit Margin

This is defined as all income minus the cost of goods sold (COGS). COGS is comprised of expenses attributable to the creation of products, which include input materials and salaries for workers to produce such goods. However, it excludes expenses for taxes, overhead, debt, asset acquisitions, etc., among others. Another way to explain this calculation is to ask how much a business retains as profit once production costs are accounted for.

It’s calculated as follows: Gross Profit Margin = [(Net Sales – Cost of Goods Sold)/(New Sales)] x 100

Debt-to-Equity (D/E) Ratio

This is used to determine how much debt or financial leverage a company has on its books. It tells internal stakeholders and external parties what percentage of debt a company is using to operate compared to the business’ available operating reserves. This ratio contrasts a business’ complete financial obligations against its shareholder equity. Its primary use is to see how extensively it uses debt to operate.

It’s calculated as follows: Debt/Equity Ratio = Total Liabilities/Total Shareholders’ Equity.

While these calculations may seem straightforward, these are only a few examples of how businesses can calculate and analyze a company’s position – be it the owner, an employee or an outside lender or investor.

Cash Conversion Cycle (CCC) Defined

Cash Conversion Cycle (CCC) DefinedThis metric, which is also referred to as the cash cycle or the net operating cycle, looks at the time a business takes to recover its investment in inventory to eventually sell. The process starts from selling its goods, collecting on outstanding receivables or invoices, and satisfying its operating costs with the sale proceeds. It’s normally measured in days to determine the company’s financial health.

The less time necessary to complete the CCC, the healthier a company is financially because it means the business’ money spends less time tied up in inventory or collecting on outstanding inventory. It’s important to be mindful that different industries have different CCC time frames. Generally speaking, most calculations are done on either a quarterly (90 day) or an annual basis (365 days).

How to Calculate CCC

The formula is as follows:

(CCC) = Days Inventory Outstanding (DIO) + Days Sales Outstanding (DSO) − Days Payable Outstanding (DPO)

It can be broken down into three different stages:

Stage 1

Days Inventory Outstanding (DIO) looks at how many days the inventory takes to sell to customers. It’s calculated as follows:

DIO = (Average Inventory (AI) / COGS) x Time-Frame (In Days)

AI = 1/2 x (BI + FI)

BI = Beginning Inventory

FI = Final Inventory

It’s important to define COGS, taken from the Income Statement, which is Cost of Goods Sold or the costs personally connected to creation of goods or services (raw materials, labor or electricity). The lower the number, the faster a business is selling its goods.

Stage 2

Days Sales Outstanding (DSO) measures the time it takes the business to collect payment from all outstanding sales completed.

DSO = Average Accounts Receivable (AAR) / Daily Revenue

AAR = 1/2 x (SAR + FAR)

SAR = Starting AR

FAR = Final AR

Accounts Receivable are what companies record on their balance sheet to keep track of what customers owe for the goods delivered or services rendered. The lower the results, the better the company’s cash position is because they’re able to satisfy outstanding invoices.

Stage 3

Days Payable Outstanding (DPO) is the third and final stage that calculates how much businesses owe to their suppliers the business has sourced input materials from, within the time frame the suppliers’ invoices are due.  

DPO = Average Accounts Payable (AAP) / Daily COGS

Where:

AAP = 0.5 x (SAP + FAP)

SAP = Starting AP

FAP = Final AP

COGS = Cost of Goods Sold

There are different ways to interpret the DPO result. A low DPO means the business is taking care of its bills from suppliers. However, potential investors, internal managers, and supervisors can see if the business can either negotiate lengthier payment terms while still maintaining good terms or if the company negotiates early payment terms or invests the money on a short-term basis to earn more for the company before paying suppliers’ bills. A high DPO, after an investigation of a company’s financials, might show the company is taking longer than its peers to pay creditors.

While calculating the CCC is relatively straightforward, the more complex process is interpreting it correctly and using judgment for a business based on industry averages and how the numbers relate to current economic conditions.

How to Measure the Quality of Accounts Receivable

How to Measure the Quality of Accounts ReceivableAnalyzing a company’s Accounts Receivables is an effective way to measure its current cash flows and the likelihood of maintaining healthy cash flows. According to the U.S. Chamber of Commerce’s Small Business Index (Third Quarter 2024), 68 percent of small business owners reported being content with their third quarter cash flow performance. This illustrates the importance for small business owners to do everything possible to maintain healthy cash flows, including evaluating the quality of accounts receivables (A/R).

Defining Accounts Receivables

This account or line item on the balance sheet gives the business’ managers/owners and investors a measure on how much money a business expects to receive from selling goods or services. It’s an important metric because it’s a measure of what’s owed, but not yet collected from rendered services/goods.

Consideration for Uncollectable Accounts Receivables

While businesses hope to collect 100 percent of their A/Rs, businesses take a realistic view that not everyone will pay up. For whatever reason, A/Rs aren’t always collected and must be accounted for as uncollectable. Therefore, a contra account is setup to account for accounts receivables that turn into bad debt. This contra account is linked to the accounts receivable, an asset reported on the balance sheet, offsetting the accounts receivable balance. However, there are many metrics for companies to manage their health internally, and some of these metrics are discussed below.

Accounts Receivable-to-Sales Ratio

This is determined by taking a “snapshot” of the ratio or division of the accounts receivables divided by sales over a period of time. The resulting calculation is the percentage of a business’ unpaid sales. The higher the accounts receivable-to-sales ratio, the riskier the company’s financial health. It indicates a business has accounts receivables with a low likelihood of being collected. It’s calculated as follows:

AR to Sales = AR / Sales

Since it measures the mix of how much a business relies on cash versus credit, it can prompt an analyst to determine whether a company is able to operate on minimal cash with low fixed costs and limited outstanding debt. It can also prompt an analyst to determine if a company is subject to cyclical sales and is dependent on the business cycle and whether it’s the right time to invest in a company or hold off until a better entry point is established.

Accounts Receivable Turnover Ratio

This calculation determines how fast a business can convert its accounts receivables into cash. It calculates this over a discrete period, be it a month, quarter, year, etc. It’s calculated as the sales over a period divided by the average accounts receivables balance over the same period. It’s calculated as follows:

ARTR = Net Credit Sales / Average Accounts Receivable

Net Credit Sales = Sales on Credit – Sales Returns – Sales Allowances

Average Accounts Receivable = (Starting + Ending A/R Over a Fixed Time) / 2

The higher the ratio, the less friction businesses have in converting their accounts receivables into cash. One important consideration to keep in mind is that if total sales are used for this calculation, which some business do, the results don’t reflect the original formula because it doesn’t remove the sales on credit or sales allowances.

Days Sales Outstanding (DSO)

This metric reveals how fast (in average number of days) a company is able to turn its receivables into cash. It’s the average accounts receivables divided by net credit sales multiplied by 365. It’s calculated as follows:

DSO = (A/R / net credit sales) x 365 days

The lower the DSO, the better quality and the more efficient a company is in converting its accounts receivables into cash. The higher the DSO, and especially when it goes beyond 90 days, can represent two different financial measures. The first is that the business’ accounts receivables might not be collectable. The second is that the company might be able to make sales but with deteriorating earnings.

While there are many ways to analyze a company’s health, along with many ways to analyze the quality of existing and future accounts receivables, these are a few ways to evaluate a company’s present financial health and prospects for the future.

Sources

https://www.uschamber.com/sbindex/key-findings

Looking at the Expanded Accounting Equation

Whether it’s a private equity transaction or an institutional or retail investor, analyzing a company’s financial statements is an important part of fundamental analysis. One important but basic way to analyze whether a company is worth investing in is through the expanded accounting equation. The most straightforward equation to analyze a business’ balance sheet is:

Assets = Liabilities + Shareholder’s Equity

However, there are more detailed equations that analysts can employ to more closely examine a company’s financial situation. One way to look at it is by more comprehensive equations that break down net income and the transactions related to the equity owners (dividends, etc.).

This equation is a building block of accounting because it focuses on double-entry accounting – or that each occurrence impacts the bifurcated accounting equation – requiring the correct solution to always be in balance. This system is used for journal entries, regardless of the type of transaction. Looking at this equation in greater detail, here’s a more granular example:

Assets = Retained Earnings + Liabilities + Share Capital

Assets are the capital that give a business the ability to benefit from projected, increased productivity and hopefully increased gains. Whether it’s short-term (less than 12 months) or long-term (more than 12 months), it can take the form of real estate, cash, cash-equivalents, pre-paid expenses, accounts receivable, etc.

Liabilities are the amounts owed to lenders due to past agreements. This is related to the sum of liabilities, which is the total of current (up to 12 months) liabilities, plus long-term (more than 12 months) debt and related obligations. This takes the form of loans, accounts payable, owed taxes, etc. Shareholder’s equity is how much the company owners may assert ownership on after accounting for all liabilities.

Another way this equation can be expressed is as follows:

Assets = Liabilities + Contributed Capital + Beginning Retained Earnings + Revenue + Expenses + Dividends

Depending on the financial outcome of the company, dividends and expenses may be negative numbers.

To further explain, these variations on the equation help analysts break down shareholder’s equity. Revenues and expenses illustrate the delta in net income over discrete accounting/earning periods from sales and costs, respectively. Stockholder transactions are able to be accounted for by looking at what capital the original stockholders provided to the business and dividends, or earnings distributed to the company’s stockholders. Retained earnings are carried over from a prior accounting period to the present accounting period. Despite being elementary, the information is helpful for business managers and investors to develop a higher level of analysis.

When it comes to evaluating bankruptcy, it can help investors determine the likelihood of receiving compensation. When it comes to liabilities, should debts be due sooner or over longer periods of time, these debts always have priority. When it comes to liquidated assets, these are then used to satisfy shareholders’ equity, until funds are exhausted.  

While this is not a comprehensive look at how to analyze a company, it provides internal and external stakeholders with a way to build a strong financial analytical foundation.

Accounting Considerations for Capital Expenditures and Operating Expenses

When it comes to running a business, there are a lot of expenses incurred during operations. As of January 2024, New York University’s Stern School of Business had recorded nearly $1.2 trillion in capital expenditures by U.S. sectors. Considering this, there are two important concepts that are imperative to study for effective accounting treatment: capital expenditures (CapEx) and operating expenses (OpEx).

Defining CapEx and OpEx

Operating expenses (OpEx) are required outlays a company incurs on a more frequent basis to take care of day-to-day expenditures. Capital expenditures (CapEx), conversely, are larger purchases that businesses intend to use over the long term (at least 12 months). 

Different Considerations

OpEx

This type of asset is more of a short-term consideration. Expenses that fall under this category include utilities, wages, rent, taxes, selling, general and administrative expenses (SG&A). Unlike CapEx, businesses may benefit from tax deductions for these types of expenditures, as long as the business incurs the expense during the same tax year. These expenses reduce a company’s net income. However, they are not eligible for depreciation, which is how CapEx reduces a business’ net income. Since the entire expense is recognized right away, they’re reported on the income statement.

CapEx

This type of asset is intended to have a useful life of more than one year. Examples of these types of assets include warehouses, data centers, work trucks, etc. Many of these items fall under PPE or property, plant and equipment (PP&E) on the balance sheet. On the cash flow statement, it can be reported under the investing activities section.

Since these items are intended to last for a considerable time frame, such investments are planned to improve the profitability/capabilities of the business. Unlike OpEx, these expenditures are not tax deductible. It’s also important to understand this applies to intangible assets, such as patents, goodwill, etc.  

These types of assets are financed by either collateral or debt. Businesses also can issue bonds or get creative with their financing partners. Listed as a capitalized asset on the balance sheet, it’s depreciated over the asset’s useful life. However, it’s important to note that land is not depreciated.

Considerations between CapEx and OpEx

When it comes to CapEx, it’s important to know that some transactions can be paid for during the acquisition period; but acquisition costs also can occur over multiple accounting periods if it’s a long-term project, such as building a manufacturing plant or warehouse.

CapEx can determine the financial health of a company. If a company can reinvest in itself through patents, machinery, equipment, etc., along with maintaining or increasing its dividend payments to shareholders, then the company is on solid financial footing.

Depreciation for CapEx items is advantageous for companies because it provides a balance to the investment by lowering the company’s net income.   

There is another reason why both types of expenses exist. OpEx is a better choice if a business wants to be more agile and protect capital. CapEx would be used if a business is aiming to invest for long-term profitability and competitiveness.

Understanding how these two expenses are classified and accounted for are essential for businesses to navigate the accounting requirements and tax code effectively.

Sources

https://pages.stern.nyu.edu/~adamodar/New_Home_Page/datafile/capex.html

Accounting Considerations for Business Insurance Coverages

Business Insurance CoveragesWith more than eight million small businesses in America, and more than $776 billion in net premiums issued by the insurance industry in 2022 for commercial policies (according to the Insurance Information Institute), business insurance is big business. Along with protecting businesses from a myriad of claims, insurance expenses also have to be accounted for correctly.

When it comes to defining prepaid insurance, it’s essentially remittances that businesses (and individuals) make to an insurance company in advance. Normally, the usual time-frame for an insurance policy is 12 months. The time-frame is important when it comes to distinguishing between current and long-term asset classification.

If a prepaid expense, such as an insurance premium payment, is not utilized within 12 months of the remittance, it’s considered a long-term asset. Since it’s very uncommon for it to happen, it’s not seen in many financial statements, but is an important consideration to ensure that prepaid expenses are accounted for correctly.  

Important Accounting Factors

Since the coverage takes place in the future, but the payment is recorded in a preceding period, the prepaid insurance expense is considered a current asset on the balance sheet. Then, when the coverage is effective, the accounting consideration changes to the expense side of the business’ balance sheet.  

Here is an example of how businesses account for insurance expenses.

Company X pays an insurance premium of $3,000 on May 15 for the following 12 months starting June 1. The May 15 payment is recorded on the same date with a debit of $3,000 attributed to prepaid insurance along with a credit of $3,000 to cash. As of May 31, nothing has changed insurance-wise or accounting-wise for this policy, so the full $3,000 will be reported as prepaid insurance. However, once coverage is effective things change.

When June 30 rolls around, an adjusting entry will show a debit insurance expense for $250 (one-twelfth of the annual policy premium), and the same amount will see a credit to prepaid insurance. The June 30 debit balance for prepaid insurance will now be $2,750, leaving the remaining 11 months of insurance coverage that hasn’t yet elapsed – or eleven-twelfths of the $3,000 insurance premium cost.

This process repeats for the remaining 11 months. Depending on the business’ needs, coverage changes, policy changes, etc., the amounts may change but the process will likely remain the same.

Additional Factors

A related term, insurance payable, is another type of debt that is connected with an insurance expense. Listed on a company’s balance sheet, it represents a business’ outstanding premiums. This shows how much a company needs to pay the insurance company, and ideally by the end of the current period to remain current, avoid overdue fees, or have the policy canceled by the insurance carrier.

Along with giving businesses peace of mind, having the right mix of commercial insurance requires the right type of accounting considerations for the business’ internal and external accounting and tax reasons.

Sources

https://www.iii.org/fact-statistic/facts-statistics-commercial-lines

How to Develop a Credit Policy

How to Develop a Credit PolicyA credit policy explains how a company will manage lines of credit for client accounts and what procedures to follow for severely outstanding invoices. It helps a business promote a robust foundation for its working capital level.

Defining a Credit Policy

Unlike personal credit scores, business scores range from 0 to 100; the scores from the FICO Small Business Scoring Service range from 0 to 300. According to the U.S. Small Business Administration, a first step to establishing business credit is to sign up for a Dun & Bradstreet (DUNS) number for each business location.

There are three components to a company’s credit policy. First, develop an effective system of following up on past-due invoices. Second, define when, how much, and the terms of credit extended to customers. Third, establish how the business underwrites a client’s creditworthiness and put guidelines in place to determine when to increase or decrease lines of credit for clients.

Memorializing a Company’s Credit Policy for External and Internal Uses

The reason why it’s so important to have a credit policy in writing is because 6 in 10 workers in large American business workplaces have found it challenging to get information from their fellow co-workers, according to a report by YouGov and Panopto. This same report found that processes that are not documented result in employees wasting an average of 5.3 hours/week either looking for the right person or waiting for a response.

Internally, it enables employees to understand the policy inside and out, creating more efficient workers. Externally, it sets clear ground rules and reduces the likelihood of mismatched customer expectations.

Considerations Before Writing Out a Credit Policy

Depending on the interest rate environment, clients may have a hard time obtaining financing. If they are able to obtain financing in a high-interest rate environment, it will come with a higher cost for the customer. The business may need to have more stringent policies.

Terms of Sale May Not be One-Size-Fits-All

It is imperative to explain how payment terms work before the company engages with clients. Be it net 15, 30, or 60 days, etc., consider how payment timeframes may incentivize pre-payment or early payment discounts. From there, determine when and how the company takes action to deem when payment is “delinquent,” and when it’s considered uncollectable and finally written off and sold to a debt collector.

Depending on the size/revenue/etc. of the company writing the policy, it is not ideal to treat smaller companies the same as larger/more established companies. For example, giving a company a net 45 term versus a net 30 or net 15 has two available outcomes.

Larger companies may be able to pay faster, but if they are given more time to pay, it can negatively impact the receiving company’s cash flow. And while giving small companies similar terms can create more goodwill, it also can cause a company to take it for granted. This presents the potential to never receive payment for outstanding invoices if the small business faces bankruptcy. Similarly, depending on the type of business and/or sector it’s in, risk should be rated appropriately.

Determine Roles/Responsibilities

Ensure each department and person within each department has a defined role within the credit approval process. The sales department can help craft payment terms to reduce late payments and maximize sales. The credit department can handle reviewing to extend, lower, and increase credit limits. The accounts receivable (AR) department should follow up on late invoices, collect payments, and record incoming payments.    

While there’s no boilerplate form for a business’ credit policy, having a policy in place will help a business navigate its internal and external needs more effectively.

Sources

eBook: Valuing Workplace Knowledge

https://www.sba.gov/business-guide/plan-your-business/establish-business-credit

IRS Audit Alert: Are You Making These Common Mistakes?

Worried about getting audited by the IRS? Check out the statistics on IRS audits and tips to reduce your risk of being audited.

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IRS Audit Alert: Are You Making These Common Mistakes?

Article | September 15, 2023 | Authored by KDP LLP

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) conducts audits to ensure both individuals and businesses are complying with tax laws and accurately reporting their income and deductions. Even though audits are relatively rare, certain income brackets and specific actions can attract the attention of the IRS. In this article, we’ll provide audit rates from the most recent IRS Data Book, along with tips to minimize your risk of audit.

IRS audit rates

Each year the IRS releases the Data Book, which provides valuable statistics on IRS audit activity. According to the data for 2019 tax returns, the likelihood of an audit increases with higher income levels. Taxpayers earning between $1 million and $5 million face an audit rate of 1.3%, while those with incomes over $10 million have close to a 9% audit rate. In comparison, the audit rate for taxpayers earning between $25,000 to $500,000 is around 0.2%. 

Estate tax returns also face more rigorous examinations compared to personal tax submissions. For the 2019 tax year, the IRS examined 1.4% of estate tax submissions, a significant contrast to the percentage of personal tax submissions inspected. 

To provide a better understanding of the likelihood of an audit and the respective factors contributing to it, we have included a table highlighting the most recent IRS audit rates based on 2019 tax returns. This table illustrates the audit rates across various income levels and the differential scrutiny of tax returns such as personal and estate tax submissions. Please note that the IRS can pursue new enforcement actions for 2019 tax returns through at least 2023, so these estimates could still change. 

Return type

Percentage of returns examined

Individual Returns

 

Returns with EITC

0.8%

No total positive income

1.1%

TPI $1-$25,000

0.4%

TPI $50,000-$75,000

0.2%

TPI $75,000-$100,000

0.2%

TPI $200,000-$500,000

0.2%

TPI $500,000-$1 million

0.6%

TPI $1 million-$5 million

1.3%

TPI $5 million-$10 million

2.0%

TPI > $10 million

8.7%

Business Returns

 

Total Corporation income tax returns

2.9%

Partnership returns

0.1%

S-corporation returns

0.1%

Estate tax returns

1.4%

How long does the IRS have to audit you? 

In general, the statute of limitations for an audit runs three years from the time you file your return. Technically, the statute of limitations clock starts running on the later of your filing date or the actual due date, so filing early will not necessarily start the clock earlier. And, if you fail to file or forget to sign your return, it is not considered a valid return, and the clock does not start until the error is resolved.

In some situations, you could face an audit up to 6 years after your return was filed or due, whichever is later. For instance, if you omitted more than 25% of your income, the statute of limitations is doubled to 6 years. If you overstated your cost basis on the sale of an asset that reduced taxable income by more than 25%, the statute of limitations is doubled to 6 years. Worse yet, there are circumstances in which the statute of limitations never runs out, meaning the IRS can audit you indefinitely. If you never file a return or file a fraudulent return, there is no time limit.

While never filing a return or filing a fraudulent return seem like obvious reasons for no time limit, there are many less obvious situations. For example, forgetting to include certain forms when required, such as Form 3520 for receiving a gift or inheritance from a non-U.S. person or Form 8938 for overseas assets causes the statute of limitations clock to not even start.

The IRS’s time limits are anything but simple, and there are many exceptions to the general three-year statute of limitations rule. This is why it’s imperative that you work with a seasoned CPA when filing your taxes, as even minor mistakes and oversights can cause an audit and lead to large civil penalties and potential criminal liability. 

Strategies to reduce audit risk

While the risk of an audit may be small, it’s important to understand common triggers for an audit and, when possible, how to avoid them.  

Report income accurately

One of the most critical steps in avoiding an IRS audit is to report all income and expenses accurately. Underreporting income can raise red flags with the IRS, increasing the likelihood of an audit. This can be triggered when the income sources and amounts reported on your tax return are inconsistent with those reported by third parties. 

Income taxes originating from regular wages are typically withheld and reported by your employer. However, non-wage earnings, such as capital gains and dividends, usually do not have taxes withheld, making them more susceptible to inconsistencies and scrutiny by the IRS. 

To ensure you accurately report all sources of income, we have compiled a table that outlines common types of income, their associated tax forms, and the deadlines by which you should receive these forms.

Type of Income

Relevant Form

Should be Received by

Regular Wages

W2

Jan. 31

Independent Contractor Income

1099-NEC

Feb. 1

Partnership Income

Schedule K1

Mar. 15

Misc. Income (e.g., rent, royalties)

1099-MISC

Feb. 1

Social Security

SSA-1099

Jan. 31

Distributions from Retirement Accounts, Pensions, Annuities

1099-R

Jan. 31

Real Estate Sale

1099-S

Feb. 15

Securities Sale

1099-B

Feb. 15

Dividends

1099-DIV

Jan. 31

Interest

1099-INT

Jan. 31

Deductions and credits

It’s important to fully understand the eligibility criteria for deductions and credits when filing your taxes. If you are unsure of your eligibility for deductions or credits or plan to claim complex deductions, it’s wise to seek professional guidance. 

Be specific when listing deductions, especially if you’re deducting things like travel, advertising, inventory, and office supplies. If any significant changes or discrepancies in your deductions occur, you can provide an explanatory statement with your return to prevent arousing suspicion. 

Avoid claiming excessive or unusual deductions, particularly for business expenses, as this can be an audit trigger. If you claim a home office deduction, make sure you understand and follow the IRS rules. The space must be used exclusively and regularly for your business, and it must be the principal place of your business. 

Also, claiming a sizable charitable tax deduction relative to your total income could draw the attention of the IRS. Be prepared to provide documentation to support any figures you report on your return, and only report the actual amount of deductions for which you are eligible.

Business Losses

It’s common for businesses, particularly new ones, not to be profitable. However, reporting losses for an extended number of years or showing a big swing in losses may attract the attention of the IRS. The underlying expectation is that a business should generate profits over the long term, and the IRS may seek explanations if this doesn’t occur. And, of course, if your business shows an unusually high loss, it could trigger a red flag. 

Double-check your tax return

Always thoroughly check your tax return for accuracy and unintentional omissions. Ensure all math and figures are correct, and confirm that you’re using the appropriate number of exemptions. Note that round numbers on your tax return can look suspicious, so it’s best to use exact amounts whenever possible. 

Make certain that all figures match up with other tax-related forms (such as your 1099 or W-2), as data entry errors are a frequent red flag for auditors. While the IRS’s automated system will detect discrepancies, it won’t be apparent whether the discrepancy was accidental or intentional.

Electronic filing

Timely, electronic submission of your tax return can also reduce the likelihood of an audit. The error rate for a paper return is significantly higher than that for returns filed electronically, mainly because tax software helps to correct errors. By filing electronically, you are less likely to make errors and more likely to avoid an audit.

Understanding the frequency of IRS audits and common triggers can help reduce the likelihood of an audit. While this article provides insights on audit rates and strategies to reduce your risk, there’s no substitute for personalized advice based on your unique situation. If you have any questions or would like assistance with your tax return, please contact our office to speak with one of our expert advisors.

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Call us at (541) 773-6633 (Oregon), (208) 313-7890 (Idaho) or fill out the form below and we’ll contact you to discuss your specific situation.





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KDP is a team of CPAs and business advisors with a local focus, but a national reach. We have offices in Medford, Oregon and Boise, Idaho, as well as satellite offices throughout the United States. We have been providing professional tax, accounting, audit, and management advisory services since 1976, serving clients nationwide. Our firm has more than 90 trained professionals on staff dedicated to furnishing high-quality, timely and creative solutions for our clients.

For more information on how KDP LLP can assist you, please call us at:

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